top of page

The Happy List Project

Hello, loved ones.

I must apologize for the long time no update - and I must apologize again because this will be much less of an actual “update;” know that one is coming, (I’ve set a deadline for myself to have it posted by the end of the month - and now it’s out on the world wide web, so it must be true, and I cannot take it back!) I have been in Madagascar for about 6 months now! For those of you keeping score (Mom, Grandma… I’m talking to you here…) that means there are just a over five months left! How crazy is that!? Just yesterday we were landing in the Tana Airport, hearing our first words of Malagasy, tasting our first Malagasy dishes, and meeting our host communities. And at the same time, when I look back, it all seems a little distant. I’m settling into my space here - I’ve been unpacked, and repacked, and unpacked again. I’ve decorated the white tubs that are my water filter with my own little designs and favorite phrases. The number of familiar faces I pass grows each day and the greetings don’t just fall from my mouth anymore, they feel natural there - as though I might accidently greet you with an “Akory” when, in fact, I mean “Hello.” It’s been an interesting transition to say the least - and much, much more to come on that in the post that I WILL be posting for you soon.

A few years ago I was gifted a little grey book titled "Favorite Moment of the Day" while I was trying to figure out what would fit in my suitcase in terms of "activities" I grabbed the small book and tossed it in. That book has become one of my favorite parts of the day. It's morphed into something more - a place where I log not only "favorites" but things that I am grateful for, struggles I am thankful for, and the names of people who I meet Recently I've taken some time to look back and reflect on earlier entries of the book - what a treat! It has been an opportunity to see growth, to recognize the ways that I am loves and to relish the small things such as a perfectly ripe mango. I began pulling things from it and adding them to my journal to form a list, a quick guide when things were getting tricky. Today, I would like to share with you some of the things from that list in the hopes that if gives a little more insight into my world, to share with you my joys, the people whom I love, the places that I feel freest. And in turn I hope that you will share some of your happy list with me, that you share the list with the people on it and add to it often as we continue to learn and grow. So, without further ado, I give you…. (drum roll)…. a snapshot of my happy list. 1. Finding Chameleons in the trees 2. Food auctions during the Sunday service as part of offering 3. Flipping to the correct hymn 4. Playing with my host siblings and their cats 5. When my host mom makes bread (seriously, yumm!) 6. Chickens and Cattle and Geese and Ducks everywhere! 7. Staff dinner nights 8. Teaching Mamia the chicken dance 9. Very Good!” said with more encouragement and enthusiasm than you can imagine. 10. Getting my Malagasy flashcards right! 11. Market days 12. All. Of. The. Fresh. Fruit. All of it. 13. Speaking of which… IT’S AVOCADO SEASON! 14. ‘Gimley’ the frog who lives in my bathroom and sings at night. 15. When the rice I cook resembles food and not glue - thank you to some gentle guidance I’m getting better at this! 16. Manakara beach days 17. The “turkey snot” plant that grows outside of the office (I'll post a picture with my next blog... more to look forward to… it’s incredible.) 18. Bible study every day at 8:45 - a constant time of worship and prayer and togetherness 19. The INCREDIBLE views I get to enjoy on my walk to work on Tuesday and Thursday 20. Baby farm animals - the big ones too! 21. Road trips to deliver eggs to Farafangana where my coYAGM Katie lives 22. Lunch dates in Farafangana with Katie 23. My strong, beautiful, incredible, encouraging, and honest cohort and leaders 24. The sunsets 25. Culture nights that are filled with music, dance, and laughter 26. Christmas at the end of January (Fihaonana had new students arrive in January, so of course we had to celebrate Christmas with them!) 27. When my boss says “because your birthday is in August and you will not be here, just pick a day and we will celebrate your birthday on that day. Any day.” 28. Teaching my English classes and knowing when information has really clicked. 29. Falling asleep to the sound of students singing hymns in the chapel that my house is attached to. 30. That the kind man who owns a small boutique I frequent in Manakara greets me with a smile, both English and Malagasy welcomes, and a mini bar of chocolate. 31. That I lost my dictonary in Manakara, a city 47km from my site, and after is being gone for weeks and weeks and weeks it was returned to me. 32. When my host siblings say grace before a meal in Malagasy, French and English “Jesus, thank you for this food, bless us, amen.” 33. When the staff stay after to help translate what was said during bible study or church 34. Eating meals on Sunday with families at Fihaonana. 35. My lambas - cloth that you wrap around you like a skirt. They have beautiful patterns! 36. Having some quiet time to read - a favorite hoby of mine that had fallen to the wayside. 37. Trying new foods: cassava bread balls, nems, sambos, and fried plantains. 38.The taste of a papaya that I knocked down myself. 39. When Bobby the gaurd dog walks me home at night. 40. When my adult students surprise me with fun idiosims that they know “coulda, shoulda woulda” “when are you tying the knot?” “What does it mean to make like a banana and split?” and in turn teach me Malagasy proverbs.

In future blog posts and newsletters be on the lookout for the “gratitude corner” which will be a place where I continue to reflect and name the many, MANY blessings that surround me and give me reason to celebrate and be happy.

Love and light to you,

Serena Rae

Bonus:

*I love my time in the animal food storage room. There is always good company, lots of laughs, and impromptu English/ Malagasy lessons

* I've always really enjoyed snails, so I was PSYCHED when these little guys emerged from their hiding places after a good rain. They are EVERYWHERE!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page